Third prompt

Well, I’m definitely not a fun of generative art. I won’t even try to go into this question of is it art or not, I just don’t like. There were a few obvious solutions for generating this kind of art, since I was dealing with pixels during this semester, I’ve decided to continue with it.

What I did is i took around 1000 photographs from the last few years of my life and compressed them to 1 pixel size, basically leaving a single color cell. The next step was to create a square of those pixels, but it apparently takes too much time without software. I stopped here:

all-pixels-try-ouy

After this I’ve decided to use some collage makers to make it faster, the maximum grid I found was 6*6 images, here are some results:

And at the end, I’ve decided to finish this manual grid, but made 20*20 “pixels” size (each pixel is 10 times bigger).

20x20

Do I like it? I don’t know. Do I consider this art? Not really. Is it interesting? Well, in some way – I can see the pattern of my life :), some colors are preliminary, also you can definitely see the difference between the photo sets. Maybe this thing somehow reminds of a a way these photos are stored on a hard drive, just a bits of information, with no context when separate.

Leave a comment